Topic: Range Around Transform

We are seeking to migrate from Mapbox to Online Maps, and there is a functionality from thr Mapbox Unity SDK that I would love very much to be implemented in Online Maps.

It's Range Around Transform. Basically, the map will update its extents when a transform of another GameObject moves. I have attached a GIF of the feature in action. This feature is essential to our visualisation product, basically positioning objects in world scale, and allowing freestyle camera movement in 3D space as well. The idea is that everything is in world scale (1 unit is 1 meter), including the map plane.

I'm new to Online Maps, and I haven't been able to replicate this functionality. As I understand, the Online Maps map plane is stationary, and the camera control locks the camera in place to allow for user control. Is Range Around Transform functionality implemented in Online Maps already? If not, it would be really nice to have this in the plugin.

Post's attachments

Attachment icon 2019-01-07_15-09-19.gif 1.76 mb, 102 downloads since 2019-01-07 

Re: Range Around Transform

Hello.

Something like that:

using UnityEngine;

public class FollowGameObject : MonoBehaviour
{
    public GameObject target;
    private Vector3 lastPosition;
    protected internal OnlineMaps map;
    protected internal OnlineMapsTileSetControl control;

private double tx, ty;

private void Start()
    {
        map = OnlineMaps.instance;
        control = OnlineMapsTileSetControl.instance;

control.allowUserControl = false;
        control.allowZoom = false;

UpdateMap(true);
    }

private void Update()
    {
        if (target.transform.position != lastPosition) UpdateMap();
    }

private void UpdateMap(bool initial = false)
    {
        lastPosition = target.transform.position;

Vector3 center = new Vector3(map.tilesetSize.x / -2, 0, map.tilesetSize.y / 2);
        Vector3 offset = lastPosition - map.transform.position - center;